Tuesday, January 31, 2012

Marshall Football: Signing Day Primer

The time has almost arrived, national signing day is less than 24 hours away. Nearing the goal line Marshall’s recruiting class boast 19 members including four players already enrolled in Huntington.

That does not mean tomorrow will be without drama. Marshall fans should be tuned into two prospects, A.J Leggett and Jeremi Powell. Leggett has already given a verbal pledge to MU but, the four star defensive back took an official visit to Tennessee last week, casting his commitment in doubt. One of the nations top 20 recruits at linebacker according to Rivals, Powell was in Huntington this weekend checking out Marshall’s campus. Powell will be making a decision between the Herd and Florida, possibly as early as today. If one or both of those players commit to Marshall it could dramatically alter the perception of this years recruiting class.

Also, do not forget the always popular secret commitment. Marshall head coach Doc Holliday has provided a signing day surprise each of the past two years and 2012 should not be any different. 2011’s unexpected commitment was junior college defensive end Terry Franklin who never stepped foot on campus. Holliday’s surprise for the class of 2010 was current tight end Harold “Gator” Hoskins.

Surprises or not tomorrow should be an exciting day for Marshall football fans. Please check back with us often as the Marshall Thundering Blog will be reporting on each letter of intent that crosses the Shewey Building’s fax machine. And don’t forget to follow us on Twitter for instant updates, https://twitter.com/#!/MarshallTBlog.

Marshall’s current recruiting class as of 1/31/12:

1) Gage Niemeyer, OL, Mount San Jacinto Community College (CA)*
2) Ken Smith, DT, Blinn Community College (TX)*
3) Corey Tindal, DB, Atlanta Sports Academy (GA)*
4) Kent Turene, LB Atlanta Sports Academy (GA)*
5) Matt Cincotta, LS, Charlotte Catholic High School (NC)
6) Tyler Combs, OL, Lawrence County High School (KY)
7) Cameron Dees, OL, Armwood High School (FL)
8) Gunnar Holcombe, QB, University School (FL)
9) Devon Johnson, LB, Richlands High School (VA)
10) A.J Leggett, DB, South Miami High School (FL)
11) Josh Muriel, OL, Port St. Lucie High School (FL)
12) Ryan Riedel, LB, Cabell Midland High School (WV)
13) Billy Rone, OL, Glendale Community College (AZ)
14) Andre Scott, DB, Oak Ridge High School (FL)
15) Gary Thompson, LB, Helix Charter High School (CA)
16) Deyonte Henderson, LB, Oak Ridge High School (FL)
17) Chris Hall, TE/QB, Fork Union Military Academy (VA)
18) Lavar Highsmith, LB, Dunbar High School (MD)
19) Marcus Gilchrist, DE, Port Charlotte High School (FL)

*Already enrolled at Marshall.

No comments:

Post a Comment