Monday, February 3, 2014

Marshall Football: C-USA Sets 2014 Schedule

In a press release earlier today Conference USA announced its division alignment and schedule for the 2014 football season. In doing so, C-USA became the first non-power five conference (MAC, Sun Belt, American Athletic, and Mountain West) to release a 2014 schedule.  

Marshall starts the season at Miami (Ohio) August 30th before kicking off Joan C. Edwards Stadium’s 23rd year on September 6th against Rhode Island. The Following Saturday brings the Ohio Bobcats to Huntington. Ohio has beaten Marshall three years in a row including last season’s 34-31 victory in Athens.

After a bye week, the Herd opens conference play at Old Dominion October 4th. It will be the school’s first ever meeting on the football field. Marshall returns home on October 11th against Middle Tennessee State. The Blue Raiders scored a last second touchdown to defeat the Herd 51-49 last year.

Late October takes Marshall to Florida and brings a Sunshine State opponent to the Herd. On October 18th Marshall faces Florida International in Miami. The Golden Panthers had a tough 2013 season, losing all but one game including a 48-10 drubbing by the Herd. Florida Atlantic meets Marshall at the Joan October 25th. The Owls enter 2014 with a new head coach, former Arkansas assistant Charlie Partridge.  

After Marshall’s second bye week of the season, Southern Miss plays host to the Herd on November 8th. The following week Marshall can avenge its biggest loss of 2013 as they host Rice November 15th. The Owls defeated the Herd 41-24 in last year’s C-USA Championship game.

Under the leadership of new head coach Bill Clark, UAB host Marshall on November 22nd. The Herd closes out the regular season at home with a day after Thanksgiving bout against Western Kentucky, Friday November 28th. As a member of the Sun Belt Conference last year, WKU finished with a 8-4 record.

In addition to today’s schedule release, C-USA also announced the leagues football division lineup for 2014. The 13 football playing members will be split into two division. The East includes Marshall, FIU, FAU, ODU, MTSU, WKU, and UAB. The West division features Southern Miss, UTEP, UTSA, North Texas, Louisiana Tech, and Rice. Western Kentucky and Old Dominion are new to the league while East Carolina, Tulane, and Tulsa exit for the American Athletic Conference this July.

T.V. coverage and times will be released at a later date. The conference championship game will take place on Saturday December 6th at a site to be determined. 

2014 Marshall Football Schedule
Aug. 30             at Miami (Ohio)
Sept. 6              RHODE ISLAND
Sept. 13            OHIO
Sept. 20            at Akron
Sept. 27            Bye
Oct. 4                at Old Dominion
Oct. 11              MIDDLE TENNESSEE
Oct. 18              at FIU
Oct. 25              FLORIDA ATLANTIC
Nov. 1               Bye
Nov. 8               at Southern Miss
Nov. 15             RICE
Nov. 22             at UAB
Nov. 28             WESTERN KENTUCKY

No comments:

Post a Comment